Say, “Cheese”

I wish I had written, “I blog, therefore I am,” but I guess my answer to the question, “Why I blog” will do. You see, I really do want to make a difference here in my community. Through this blog, and my involvement on the Kings Contrivance Village Board, I am doing what I can to give back to my hometown, the place that shaped who I am today.

In his blog yesterday, CA Board Member Tom Coale writes, “… there is something undeniably patriotic in the work of these Village Board members.  It is the precise spot where the “rubber meets the road” in terms of our government’s interaction with individual citizens.” I couldn’t agree more, Tom. In fact, it is this aspect that I find most rewarding.

Almost three years ago, on September 9, 2008, we (David Yungmann, my sister Katie, and Mac Cassity) published Columbia 2.0’s first blog following a Columbia Tomorrow press conference at Symphony Woods.  At the time, the plan for downtown was a big question mark in a lot of ways.

What a long way we have come since then.  Since that initial post in 2008, we grew as we continued to blog, speak out at public meetings, and activate other young professionals to speak out about the future of their community.

And during that time, with the active involvement of Columbians and people across Howard County, the plan for downtown was finalized, passed by the County Council, and reaffirmed after the failure of a petition drive that attempted to take it to referendum in Howard County.  Our tradition of bold and comprehensive community planning prevailed, and today, we are on the brink of breaking ground to fulfill that vision.  I like to think Columbia 2.0 played a little part in that.

So, yes, I do blog to make a difference and I sincerely hope that I am.

Where does Columbia 2.0 go next?  I’m not sure yet, but the future always holds change and challenges – or, as I like to call, them: opportunities.  Stay tuned!

Tags: , , , , , , ,

About columbia2.0

Columbia 2.0 is a thriving grass-roots organization whose mission is to support the Next Generation of Columbia Town Center.

Leave a Reply

